The Interact Coordinating Committee’s “CONVERSATIONS”
23 February 2019
Reported by: Dr Hoh Sek Tien, Youth Service Director
Our Interactors conceptualised an event that they believed would be a step towards creating a greater level of understanding in today’s society. Their combined efforts resulted in the creation of “Conversations”, a dialogue-based conference for Interactors which was organised in conjunction with District 3310‘s commemoration of Rotary International’s World Understanding and Peace Day.
The event aimed to inspire Interactors in their personal service journeys through small-group conversations with individuals and organisations that work tirelessly to better people’s lives around the globe. The conference, which was held on 23 Feb 2019 at Raffles Institution’s Performing Arts Centre, saw the participation of 100 Interactors from 10 Interact clubs and 11 speakers. Interactors were split into small groups, speaking to one speaker at a time on a rotational basis.
All in all, a meaningful afternoon spent.
List of speakers:
  1. Mr. Jack Sim, World Toilet Organisation
  2. Mr. Josephus Tan, Invictus Law
  3. Ms. Anbarasi Boopal, ACRES
  4. Ms. Audrey, Food Bank
  5. PP Paliath Mohandas, Rotary Club of Singapore
  6. Mr. Eugene Heng, Waterways Watch Society
  7. Ms. Heryano, Club HEAL
  8. Mr. Soh Weijie, World Vision
  9. Mr. Emmanuel Paul Ng, Singapore Repertory Theatre
  10. Mr. Joseph Chun, environmental lawyer, Shook Lin & Bok LLP
  11. Dr Hoh Sek Tien, Eye Surgeons @ Novena, Rotary Club of Singapore
List of Interact Clubs
  1. ACS International
  2. Bukit Gombak EAGLES Interact Club (community based)
  3. Catholic JC
  4. Evergreen Secondary
  5. Fuchun Secondary
  6. Hwa Chong Institution
  7. Jurong Pioneer JC
  8. Nanyang JC
  9. Peicai Sec
  10. Raffles Institution
Special thanks to District Governor Henry Tan and Assistant Governor Elsie Chua for their strong support and presence at the event.
Last but not least, congratulations to the following Interactors and key drivers of the event - Tang Zhichen (Raffles Institution), Nicole Ng (Bukit Gombak EAGLES), Aaron Ang (Hwa Chong Institution).